Women of Virginia Commemorative Commission Executive Board November 8, 2013

Minutes

Members in Attendance:

Secretary Lisa Hicks-Thomas Lissy Bryan Jacqueline Hedblom Em Bowles Locker Alsop Senator Mary Margaret Whipple Susan Schaar

Others in attendance:

Dr. Sandra Treadway Mary Blanton Easterly Alice Lynch

The meeting began and greetings were extended to visitors. Secretary Hicks-Thomas then led a discussion regarding an e-mail sent to the Executive Board from Commission Member Mary Abelsmith. Regarding the concerns of the e-mail, the Executive Board resolved that they had already received a concrete timeline on the project as submitted by the artist, that the current funds raised are being held by the Capitol Foundation and that Alice Lynch will talk more about current fundraising efforts at the next meeting of the Full Commission.

Members of the Executive Board then held a brief discussion about potential names for the Monument that had not previously been submitted. Susan Schaar brought up the potential to have a female athlete as a figure on the Monument. Ms. Schaar also discussed the major role women have played in the conservation of Virginia and suggested the name Elisabeth Scott Bocock. Em Bowles Alsop also suggested the Gibson girl and Mary Wells Ashworth. Alice Lynch questioned if Lottie Moon should be reconsidered. A suggestion from the audience of Pat Perkinson, the first female Secretary of the Commonwealth of Virginia, was made. An audience member also suggested Henrietta Lacks.

The Board then discussed the information provided to them by Dr. Treadway on the list of names they had previously chosen. Lissy Bryan began the discussion of what the criteria will be for choosing women to be represented as statues. Ms. Schaar noted that the Commission heard during focus groups that the public wants representation for people who go to work every day because they are the backbone of what takes place every day in Virginia. Secretary Hicks-Thomas noted that it was important to look at what each woman's contributions and accomplishments were. Members then looked to the original resolution to better understand what the qualities a woman represented should have.

The Board then reviewed the names and voted on whether they should be included on the final list of women to be represented as figures on the Monument.

17th Century:

Ann Burras Laydon – Senator Whipple motions, Susan Schaar seconds - 3 votes Temperance Flowerdieu Yeardley - Lissy Bryan motions, Em Bowles Alsop seconds - 2 votes Pocahontas - Em Bowles Alsop motions, Secretary Hicks-Thomas seconds - 1 vote Cockacoeske – Lissy Bryan motions, no second - motion fails

Susan Schaar makes a motion to add Ellen Johnston to this list. Need to include many people were brought here against their will but became part of the community. Senator Whipple noted that there is already a person who represents that kind of background although it's not in as early of a time period.

18th Century:

Senator Whipple remarked that she was having second thoughts about including Clementina Rind and suggested she could be replaced by Christiana Campbell who was eliminated earlier.

Mary Draper Ingles - Em Bowles Alsop motions, Senator Whipple seconds - 5 votes Clementina Rind – Lissy Bryan motions, Susan Schaar seconds - 4 votes Martha Custis Washington – Susan Schaar motions, Em Bowles Alsop seconds - 5 votes

19th Century:

Sally Louisa Tompkins – Lissy Bryan motions, Susan Schaar seconds - 5 votes Elizabeth Keckley – Susan Schaar motions, Lissy Bryan seconds - 4 votes Sarah G. Boyd Jones - Secretary Hicks-Thomas motions, Em Bowles Alsop seconds - 6 votes Mary Julia Baldwin - Em Bowles Alsop motions, Secretary Hicks-Thomas seconds - 5 votes

20th Century:

Adèle Goodman Clarke – Em Bowles Alsop motions, Secretary Hicks-Thomas seconds - 6 votes Patsy Cline- Susan Schaar motions, Secretary Hicks-Thomas seconds - 3 votes Laura Lu Copenhaver - Senator Whipple motions, Susan Schaar seconds - 5 votes Martha ("Matty") Louisa Cocke - Em Bowles Alsop motions, Lissy Bryan seconds - 3 votes Maybelle Addington Carter – Lissy Bryan motions, Susan Schaar seconds - 3 votes Virginia Estelle Randolph - 3 votes Mary Johnston - 4 votes

Members of the Board then discussed how to best represent the contributions women have made to education as well as music in Virginia.

Final list as voted by the Executive Board: Anne Burras Laydon – 17th century Mary Draper Ingles – 18th century Martha Custis Washington – 18th century Clementina Rind – 18th century
Sarah G. Boyd Jones – 19th century
Sally Louisa Tompkins – 19th century
Elizabeth Keckley – 19th century
Maggie Lena Walker – 20th century
Adèle Goodman Clarke – 20th century
Laura Lu Copenhaver – 20th century
Mary Johnston – 20th century
Virginia Estelle Randolph – 20th century

Susan Schaar made a motion that the members of the Executive Board support the final list moving into the full Commission meeting. Senator Whipple seconded the motion. Secretary Lisa Hicks-Thomas, Lissy Bryan, Senator Mary Margaret Whipple, Jacqueline Hedblom and Susan Schaar voted in favor of the motion while Em Bowles Alsop voted against it. The meeting then adjourned.